Young Pianists Program

Young Pianists Program

Young Pianist Faculty

Dr. Karen Taylor

Young Pianists Program and Piano Academy Director
read more

Karen Taylor, founder and director of the IU Young Pianists Program and Summer Piano Academy, has performed solo recitals in the United States and Europe, and taught more than 90 master classes, lectures, and workshops across the Midwest. Dr. Taylor holds degrees from DePauw University (BM/Piano, Magna Cum Laude) and from Indiana University (MM/Piano and DM/Piano Performance and Pedagogy). Her principal teachers were Elizabeth Pastor, Yvonne Lefébure and Walter Robert.

Her many teaching honors and awards include a Teacher of the Year citation (1988) by the Indiana Music Teachers Assn., a Harriet Hale Woolley Scholarship, and grants from the Ecole Normale de Musique and the French government for study in Paris.

She has acted as consultant to writers and filmmakers on aspects of French pianism, and has had articles published in the Journal of the American Liszt Society, Keyboard Companion, among other music journals.

Fall 2017 Instructors

For additional information, please contact Karen Taylor directly.

Karina Avanesian
Eun Jin Bang
Marina Berretta-Hammond
"Joanne" Chew Ann Chang
Hyeyoon Cho
Mark De Zwaan*
Cecilia Fleming
Fred Hammond*
Daniel Inamorato dos Santos Louro*
Soojin Joo*
Risa Kaneko
Ji Hyun Kim*
Younkyung Kim*
Jocelyn Lee
Kathy Tai-Hsuan Lee
Marge Lucas
Curtis Pavey*
David Reid
Seo Yun "Shirley" Rho
Gregory Wang
Tony Weinstein*
Haewon Yang
Mingfei Li
Liza Armistead
Elizabeth Yao*
Gregory Wang (theory only)

(*no openings currently)