Percussion Department


Join the Alumni Association!

Go to the Jacobs School Alumni site

All graduates of the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music are eligible for membership in the Jacobs School of Music Alumni Association, which is dedicated to assisting the school in achieving and maintaining excellence, fostering ongoing alumni dedication to the school and its activities, and enhancing fellowship, opportunity, and networking among the school's graduates throughout the world.

Many of our percussion department alumni enjoy rewarding and prestigious careers in a variety of areas in percussion performance, education, and in music-related businesses.

Michael D'Angelo

Lecturer, University of North Carolina, Wilmington

Kenny Aronoff

Internationally acclaimed drummer who performs with John Mellencamp, The Smashing Pumpkins, Bob Seger, John Fogerty, Melissa Etheridge, Jon Bon Jovi, Elton John, Bob Dylan, Rod Stewart, Alanis Morissette, The Rolling Stones, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Puddle of Mudd, Avril Lavigne, Joe Cocker, B. B. King, Mick Jagger, Ray Charles, Alice Cooper, Meat Loaf, Bonnie Raitt, Ricky Martin, Santana, Trey Anastasio, Michelle Branch, Vince Gill, Gladys Knight, Aaron Neville, Trisha Yearwood, Patti LaBelle, George Jones, Conway Tritty, The Buddy Rich Big Band and many others.

Brian Blume

Instructor of Percussion, Southeastern University

Michael Coletti

Percussion, United States Air Force Academy Band

David Constantine

Percussion, The United States "President's Own" Marine Band and former Assistant Timpanist and Percussion, Syracuse Symphony Orchestra               

James Cromer

Section Percussion, United States Navy Band

Ross Erickson

Principal Percussion, Evansville Philharmonic Orchestra
Instructor of Percussion, University of Evansville

Peter Erskine

Internationally acclaimed drummer, has performed with Stan Kenton, Maynard Ferguson, Weather Report, Steps Ahead, Jaco Pastorius, Joni Mitchel, Steely Dan, Diana Krall, Michael Brecker, The Yellowjackets, Pat Metheny & Gary Burton, et al, and has appeared as a soloist with the London Symphony, Los Angeles, BBC and Berlin Philharmonic orchestras. He also serves on the music department faculty at the University of Souther California's Thornton School of Music.

John Feddersen

Principal Timpanist, North Carolina Symphony Orchestra

Mark Foster

Faculty of Metropolitan State College of Denver, Colorado Symphony, Colorado Ballet and the Colorado Springs Philharmonic among others.

Bruce Hamilton

Associate Professor of Music, Western Washington University

Jeff Hamilton

Internationally acclaimed drummer, has performed with Ella Fitzgerald, Rosemary Clooney, the Count Basie Orchestra, and Monty Alexander. He has also performed with The Clayton Brothers, toured the world with Oscar Peterson and the Ray Brown trio, and currently co-leads the Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra with John and Jeff Clayton. Hamilton has also toured and recorded with Diana Krall.

Craig Hetrick

Assistant Principal Timpani/Percussion, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra and Adjunct Professor of Percussion, Butler University Jordan College of Fine Arts School of Music

Colin Hill

Professor of Percussion, Tennessee Tech University

Dr. John Hill

Professor of Percussion, Murray State University

William Hill

Principal Timpanist, Colorado Symphony and serves on the music department faculty at the University of Denver's Lamont School of Music.

Amy Holmes

Principal Percussion, Lafayette Symphony Orchestra and Section Percussion, Owensboro Symphony Orchestra

Kumiko Ito

Principal Timpanist, Sacramento Philharmonic Orchestra

Larry Jacobson

Vice President of Financial Services, North America, Universal Music Group

Randy Johnson

Section Percussion, United States Navy Band

Rebecca Kite

Internationally recognized marimba artist and teacher.

Tyler Kennamer

Percussion, United States Air Force Academy Band

Dr. Reginald Klopfenstein

Professor of Music, Bethel College

Mark Latimer

Timpanist and Section Commander, The U.S. "President's Own" Marine Band, Washington, D.C.

Scott Latsky

NYC freelance drummer and Director of Percussion at The Fieldston School (NY).

Parker Lee

Co-Principal Timpanist, Metropolitan Opera Orchestra

Matthew Levine

Section Percussion, Air Force Academy Band

Dr. Stuart Marrs

Associate Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Education, University of Maine

Michael Mixtacki

Instructor of Percussion, Northern Illinois University

Judy Moonert

Professor of Percussion, Western Michigan University and Principal percussionist with the Kalamazoo Symphony and Fontana Society.

Brian Mueller

Adjunct Instructor of Percussion, Middle Tennessee University

Jerry Noble

Director of Percussion at Wright State University

Richard O'Donnell

Principal Percussion, RTE National Symphony of Ireland; Professor of Percussion, Royal Irish Academy of Music

Dr. Nicholas Papador

Assistant Professor of Percussion at the University of Windsor

Shawn Pelton

Drummer, Saturday Night Live Band (since 1992). Also has performed with many famous artists including Bruce Springsteen, Sheryl Crow, Elton John, Rod Steward, Carly Simon, and many more.

Will Reno

Principal Timpanist, Portland (OR) Opera Orchestra.

Erich Rieppel

Principal Timpanist, Minnesota Orchestra

Diana E. Valdes-Santos

Percussion and Drum-Set Professor, Conservatory of Music of Puerto Rico/Preparatory School, San Juan, Puerto Rico.

Todd Sheehan

Principal Timpanist, Owensboro Symphony and Evansville Philharmonic Orchestra

Dr. Kay Stonefelt

Professor of Music and Chair, Percussion Studies, SUNY Fredonia

John Tafoya

Chair of the Percussion Department and Professor of Music, Indiana University Jacobs School of Music.  Former Principal Timpanist, National Symphony Orchestra

Nick Taylor

Section Percussion, United States Navy Band

Dr. Jonathan Wacker

Professor of Percussion, East Carolina University

Dr. Norman Weinberg

Professor of Music and Director of Percussion Studies, University of Arizona.

Richard Weiner

Principal Percussion (retired), The Cleveland Orchestra
Co-Chair Percussion & Timpani Department of The Cleveland Institute of Music

Jesse Willis

Director of Percussion Studies, Coastal Carolina University

Kathryn Yuill

United States Air Force Band of Mid-America


Alumni: We want to hear from you!

Please contact Professor John Tafoya, Percussion Department Chair, at to be included in this listing.