Percussion Department


Below is a list of ensembles at the Indiana University School of Music that consistently involve percussion students. All percussion students, undergraduate and graduate, are required to participate in XO40 ensembles every semester enrolled with the exception of Summer Session I. DM Percussion students are required to participate in XO40 ensembles every semester they are enrolled in applied lessons. Ensembles classified other than XO40 are additional ensembles that involve percussion students.

XO40 - Instrumental Ensembles

Orchestras: Meet daily from 4pm - 6pm

Philharmonic Orchestra
Concert Orchestra
Symphony Orchestra
University Orchestra
Chamber Orchestra
Baroque Orchestra
New Music Ensemble (meets MWF from 12:20pm - 2:15pm)

Bands: Meet daily from 2:30pm - 3:45pm

Wind Ensemble
Symphonic Band

Concert Band

Marching Hundred
(fall only)
Basketball Pep Band
(spring only)

Jazz Big Bands: Meet daily from 12:20pm - 2:15pm

David Baker Band
Allen Band
Brent Wallarab Band
Associate Instructor Band

F447/F547: Chamber Percussion Ensembles

Chamber Percussion Ensembles
The IU Percussion Ensemble meets Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12:15 pm-2:15 pm

F450/F550: Jazz Combos

Jazz Combos meet at the availability of the students.

Z162: Hand Drumming (Afro Cuban Folkloric Ensemble)

Mondays 7pm-9pm and Thursday 6:30pm-8pm

IU Brazilian Ensemble - F450/550 Chamber Music with Professor Michael Spiro

Rehearses Wednesdays 5:30-7:45 pm

Z161: IU Steel Pan Ensemble

Mondays 7pm-9pm and Thursday 6:30pm-8pm

M413/M513: Latin American Popular Music Ensemble

Latin American Popular Music Ensemble
(meets Monday 6:30pm-9:00pm)

I500: Masterclass

Percussion students are required to attend weekly masterclasses given by the Percussion Department faculty and guest artists. Recent guest clinicians include:

Keith Aleo, Ruben Alvarez, Kenny Aronoff, Anders Astrand, Fred Begun, Remo Belli, Ignacio Berroa, Kevin Bobo, Sandip Burman, Michael Burritt, Gary Chaffee, Anindo Chatterjee, J.C. Combs, Peter Erskine, Evelyn Glennie, Sergio Gomes, Gonzalo Grau, Neil Grover, Colleen Haas, Jeff Hamilton, Kroumata, Johnny Lee Lane, Linda Maxey, Jesse Nolan, John Parks, Emil Richards, Dave Samuels & Dick Sisto, Ed Soph, Svet Stoyanov, Naoko Takada, Liam Teague & Robert Chappell, Blake Tyson, Jack Van Geem, Don Williams, Matt Wilson, Bernard Woma, Paul Yancich, Cynthia Yeh,


Upon request, percussionists are constantly involved in many other School of Music performances such as student recitals, Composition Department recitals, Brass Choirs, and choral ensembles.