Faculty Resources

Lecture Committee

The Lecture Committee invites the Jacobs School of Music community to submit suggestions for guest lecturers for the academic year and beyond. The candidates should be scholars, performers, composers, or other significant figures in the music world whose presence at IU will attract the broadest possible audience and enliven our academic and musical dialogue. The Lecture Committee will make the selections from the submitted proposals, but also reserves the option of inviting lecturers proposed from within the Committee.

The mission of the Lecture Committee does not include support of lecture-recitals, master classes, or performances, nor awarding funds for departmental guests. Once a speaker has accepted an invitation and details have been agreed upon, the Committee will request the collaboration of appropriate departments to assist with arrangements and enhance the guest's interaction with the Jacobs School of Music students and faculty.

Nominations can be submitted throughout the year. Early nominations will, of course, have a better opportunity of being considered for this academic year. Please send your suggestions with comments about the candidates and any supporting references to the members of the Committee:

  • Phil Ford (fordp@indiana.edu) 2017-2019
  • Aida Huseynova (anhuseyn@indiana.edu) 2018-2020
  • Dana Marsh (dtmarsh@indiana.edu) 2018-2020