Austin B. Caswell Award

(est. 1998) Austin B. Caswell received his BA in 1953 from Amherst College and his PhD in musicology in 1964 from the University of Minnesota. After ten years of teaching at Minnesota, Professor Caswell joined the musicology faculty at IU in 1966, and for six years served the department as its chairman. Professor Caswell has been interested in a number of different research areas, including vocal performance practice, music at the court of Louis XIV, women in music, popular music in America, and the new musicology. In addition to teaching at the Jacobs School of Music, he has taught Popular Music in America for the Intensive Freshman Seminars and Ideas and Human Experience for the Undergraduate Honors Program.

Professor Caswell developed a reputation as one of the most approachable professors on campus from a wide constituency of students, from freshman to graduate students. In 1996, the year of his retirement, he was given the All-University Herman Lieber Award for excellence in teaching.

Dr. J. Peter Burkholder established the Austin B. Caswell Award in 1998. The Caswell Award is given each spring for the best paper written by an undergraduate from a music history class. There are two awards, one for the best paper on a topic before 1750, and the other for the best paper on a topic after 1750.