Organ Department Fund

The Organ Department at the Jacobs School began nearly seven decades ago. It is known to attract students of the highest caliber, and who have gone on to serve in churches, academic settings, and the performance field. Organ students at IU can take advantage of the many opportunities here, from courses in applied organ, organ literature, sacred music, organ construction and design, to improvisation.

The Organ Department is privileged in having talented and internationally recognized faculty who bring a wealth of knowledge, experience, and talent to the department and its students. The faculty of the department include Janette Fishell (Chair), Michael Boney, Vincent Carr, Patrick Fischer, Marilyn Keiser, Robert Nicholls, and Christopher Young.

There are approximately 40 students at the undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral levels within the Organ Department. These students, in addition to the various courses that are offered, engage in applied lessons, ensembles, sacred music practicums, and the Bloomington Chapter of the American Guild of Organists.

The Organ Department Fund is used for the general support of the Organ Department at the Jacobs School of Music. To contribute to the fund, or to learn more about the department, please visit: