Haddawi and Schurz Friends of Music Guarantor Scholarship

Dr. Rajih Haddawi was born in a small vilage in southern Iraq. He began his medical studies at the age of 17 at the University of Baghdad Medical College. He arrived at Prince George Hospital at the University of Maryland to begin his internship and general surgery residency. He completed his training at the University of Tennessee in orthopedics.

In 1972, he moved to Bloomington with his wife, Darlene, due to the community's access to its cultural, educational, and athletic opportunities.

In addition to the Friends of Music Haddawi Scholarship, students from the Jacobs School benefitted from Dr. Haddawi's treatment of stress-related arm and hand injurices brought on by practicing and over-playing. After his retirement in 2005, he decided to focus his efforts on healthcare access and treatment of uninsured patients.

Scott C. Schurz is a chairman emeritus of Hoosier-Times, Inc, a subsidiary of Schurz Communications, Inc., of which he serves as chairman. Hoosier Times, Inc. publishes the Herald-Times (Bloomington, IN), Times-Mail (Bedford, IN), Reporter (Martinsville, IN), and the Times (Mooresville, IN).

Schurz received his B.A. degree from Denison University in 1957. Schurz has a strong relationship with Indiana University, serving on the board of the IU Foundation since 1986, receiving an Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from Indiana University in 2000.

In 2003, he was inducted into the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame, and in 2005, he received the Indiana Journalism Award presented by Ball State University.

Nationally and globally, Schurz has served on boards and been involved with Newspaper Association of America, World Association of Newspapers, Inter-American Press Association, International Press Institute, World Press Freedom Committee, International Newspaper Marketing Association, Hoosier State Press Association, American Newspaper Publishers Association, and the Newspaper Advertising Bureau.

The Haddawi and Schurz Friends of Music Guarantor Scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students at the Jacobs School of Music.